Not Your Typical Girl

Not Your Typical Girl

vivalarayna's picture
Feast

Tags: 

Liner Notes: 

SuperSkirmish H

DATE/TIME: September 25 - 4pm CDT (2pm PDT, 5pm EDT, 10pm BST, 11pm CEST, September 26: 7am AEST etc...)

THEME/TITLE: Special. Special day/night/season/month/memory

WHAT: We will have a one hour skirmish to write to a prompt.*
HOST: @musicsongwriter

This needs a lot of work. Not entirely sure where I wanted to go with the concept, which always leads to it going nowhere. There may be some elements to salvage for a later write.

Not my best skirmish, but not my worst! Thanks to @musicsongwriter for hosting!

Lyrics: 

Yeah, I'm pretty but don't you underestimate
There's a brain in my head
And I'm pulling my weight
I've got ambition but not hungry for power
Won't find my hiding out
In some ivory tower

I'm not your typical girl
Not down for the drama
Don't wanna be a Mrs.
Don't wanna be a mama
I'm running the world
Not afraid to stand my ground
It's women like me
That make the world go round

Don't spend my Sundays sipping champagne
Not a lady who lunches
I've bigger dreams to attain
Not a debutante
No Greek letters to my name
That's not how I'm defined
Or how I stake my claim

I'm not your typical girl
Not down for the drama
Don't wanna be a Mrs.
Don't wanna be a mama
I'm running the world
Not afraid to stand my ground
It's women like me
That make the world go round

Don't judge this book by her cover
I'm a fighter, not a lover
Don't wave pom-poms with the cheerleader crowd
And I'm not afraid to get loud

I'm not your typical girl
Not down for the drama
Don't wanna be a Mrs.
Don't wanna be a mama
I'm running the world
Not afraid to stand my ground
It's women like me
That make the world go round

© 2021 R. C. Richardson
All Rights Reserved



Please keep your comments respectful, honest, and constructive. Please focus on the song and not the demo.

Comments

musicsongwriter's picture

I think you've created a very cool lyric here. And it sounds like you are a special person. I can imagine it sang. I like it a lot.

coolparadiso's picture

rock on girl - you tell it. sort of modern day "do anything you wanna do" or "I am Woman" nicely done!

kahlo's picture

I love the message here and the attitude of confidence and feminism that comes through. It is a really empowering lyric with a great cadence! Not for the trash! Awesome take on the prompt!

AndyGetch's picture

A list song is always a good start for a big topic. Might even be several songs that could springboard out of this. Nice one!