It's Time to Turn the Page

It's Time to Turn the Page

wacha's picture
Feast

Tags: 

Demo: 

Liner Notes: 

WHAT: SS082821K

DATE: Saturday - August 28

TIME: 8am CDT (6am PDT, 9am EDT, 2pm BST, 3pm CEST, 11PM AEST etc...)

HOST: @kahlo

PROMPT: page
(pages/pages/paging)

BONUS WORDS:
story
book
blank
chapter
last

Use as many bonus words as you can, 1 extra credit point for each bonus word used! If you use them all, you earn a virtual invisible intangible secret bonus prize and my utmost awe and respect.

TAG IT: SS082821K

Holy hell this was a bitch to get done, I decided to use the guitalele which I struggled to get in tune (I could have just played my guitar with a capo but was being stubborn), I realized I had the phrasing wrong for the second verse and had to rewrite it after I thought I was done, in the middle of my second attempt to record the guitalele part the mic adapter let go so I had to use my vocal mic for that but has to switch everything around to do so (It's just an SM58), I then had to readjust everything for my vocals.

Anyway, here's my song. I'm pretty happy with it flaws in the demo aside. Not sure it's a keeper but I'm happy with it and liked the prompt a lot.

Oh, I did see all the bonuses until after though I rarely go for those since I have a hard enough time getting things recorded in the time frame.

Lyrics: 

All chords relative to capo 5 (played on Guitalele)

Verse: D G D A
Chorus: em f#m em f#m em G

Verse:
Don't
Look away
It's hard to see
Harder to say

Please
Don't cry
I hate that sad look
Hidden in your eyes

Chorus:
You're not doing us any favors
And you're not being kind
We both know it's we have to turn the page
And it's time to say goodbye

Verse:
We
Had a good run
But now
Things have come undone

No use
In being bitter
Our light burned bright
But it burned out quicker

Chorus:
You're not doing us any favors
And you're not being kind
We both know it's we have to turn the page
And it's time to say goodbye

Verse:
There's no
Reason for shame
Cause no one
Has to be blame

Sometime
Things just don't work out
It's hard
But that's what life's about

Chorus:
You're not doing us any favors
And you're not being kind
We both know it's we have to turn the page
And it's time to say goodbye



Please keep your comments respectful, honest, and constructive. Please focus on the song and not the demo.

Comments

Mandolinda's picture

ooh that guitalele once again. Love the sound of it. Great song skirmish, enjoyed this one.

musicsongwriter's picture

Very interesting to read your notes. Your song doesn't show any struggle. Very good lyrics and delivery. Cool take on a skirmish prompt.

kahlo's picture

I love the succinct clear lines and the beautiful delivery - the combination of the guitalale and your clear sweet vocals on this song are so effective. This one tugs at the heart as there seem to be no second chances.

OdilonGreen's picture

Both sad and ultimately affirming, this is quite touching and genuine, and the guitarlele and your vocals have just the right tone and touch for this delicate song straddling the line between sorrow and hope. Very arresting listen!

cindyrella's picture

Fabulous tone and incredible performance. So enjoyed this one!

tjeff's picture

A gorgeous breakup song. I like the matter-of-factness of the lyric and delivery, sounds great. Excellent skirmishing!

Serene's picture

I love your soft and vulnerable vocals on this.. beautifully understated. Guitarlele us gorgeous too! Lovely sad and wistful song