Planet Wake Up Call

Planet Wake Up Call

Mandolinda's picture
Feast

Tags: 

Demo: 

Liner Notes: 

SuperSkirmish D
SS082721D

DATE/TIME: Friday, August 28, 2021 - 6am CDT (4am PDT, 7am EDT, noon BST, 1pm CEST, 9PM AEST etc...)

THEME/PROMPT: Write a love song to a planet, real or imagined

TAGS: superskirmish, songskirmish, ss082821J, feast, Planet, Planet Love song

HOST: @Unpronounceable

Lyrics: 

Planet Wake Up Call

The Am night was hot and muggy
Sounds of C frogs noisy in the dark
F Flies were buzzin and pesky
We found a G place we could park

We Am waited and ate our popcorn
The C sounds of the night were replaced
With F horrible sound of spaceships crashing
Then G everyone appeared to be chased

F Astronauts that survived were G captured
They were C tied up in ropes and F chains
Their C captors paraded them G all around
AS they were F inspected for G damage and C pains

Their Am captors were apes, talking away
Prodding the C astronauts with glee
F Trying to break them,to show who is boss
and G everyone there did agree

That the Am captured ones were subhuman
They C wouldn't understand anything
All they were F good for was slave labour
So their G workterms would soon begin

The F humans played along for G awhile
They C figured a way to F escape
TO C find a way to get G back home again
SO they F searched for G clues in the land C scape

One Am human rode off with a woman
And C together they found some clues
They followed the F trail which led them to
SOme G horrible unsettling news

THey saw Am remnamts of civilization
Strewn all C along the coastal plain
It turned out to be F Statue of Liberty
ANd the G ending of the F story will ex C plain

How was the F earth ove G rrun by Apes
Did C humans regress back to their F roots
Because C the world was G polluted and dying
ANd the F strongest and G fittest let C loose

The F planet of the Apes was a G wake up call
To teach C humans on this planet some F lessons
We need to C pay attention to our G planet
ANd make F humans under G stand conse C quences.



Please keep your comments respectful, honest, and constructive. Please focus on the song and not the demo.

Comments

I wanted to sing harmonies instantly listening to this. I dig your creativity here -- you're very talented!

coolparadiso's picture

I think you may have had an extra coffee! The mind is racing! Ha ha! But yes i see some moral as well! Nicely done

kahlo's picture

Wow! Amazing job for a skirmish! What a story to write and sing within a short amount of time! Flows wonderfully and I love the images and how the story unfolds. I have not seen Planet of the Apes so don’t know if this has anything to do with the movie but it is a story well told in this song either way!

splittybooms's picture

At first I was at ease feeling and seeing and hearing a familiar scene on a humid muggy night back in my Michigan days.
Then I felt like a War of the Worlds situation was happening.
Then I was in Planet of the Apes!
Now...its been a long time since I saw that movie and honestly don't remember anything that happened - but I feel I'd rather listen to you sing this than watch the movie again.
Great write in such a short time.

cindyrella's picture

How did you do this for a skirmish! It's is incredible and loved my listen so much!

kenmattsson's picture

Wow! This is amazing to get this much done in a skirmish. Peppy and grim at the same time!

Sunfire's picture

Good message. Yeah, we could certainly learn a lot from the original planet of the apes films. Good to see similar ideas about using that simian world to tell about our own.

AndreaB's picture

Oh my gosh Mandolinda! It is a full entire story - beginning, middle and end with a lesson to boot. I am very impressed. I enjoyed the music and singing as it went along. So good Smile

Robyn Mackenzie's picture

This is a great story, very thought-provoking. I like the cheery mandolin and clear vocals.