No More Shedding Tears For You

No More Shedding Tears For You

vivalarayna's picture
Feast

Tags: 

Liner Notes: 

SuperSkirmish C - SS082721C

DATE/TIME: Friday August 27- 4pm CDT (2pm PDT, 5pm EDT, 10pm BST, 11pm CEST, August 28: 7AM AEST etc...)

THEME/PROMPT: Tears/Hold your tears/Dry your tears/She had no tears/Tears and Smiles/Never showed his tears...

TAGS: superskirmish, songskirmish, SS082721C, feast, tears

Host: @musicsongwriter

I took the perspective of "what happens when you're out of tears?" Not necessarily that it stops hurting, but more that you don't have the energy to process that hurt anymore. Not sure how I feel about the overall piece, but I like a few lines and this was a much faster write than usual for me.

Lyrics: 

VERSE 1
I didn't think
This day would come
Can't feel the pain
Now I'm just numb
I didn't think
This hurt would end
Not happy yet
But at least I can pretend

CHORUS
I'm finally through
No more
Shedding tears for you
I'll move ahead
My eyes are dry
No longer red
Even if you never knew
No more shedding tears for you

VERSE 2
Didn't know
I was in too deep
Lost count of the nights
I cried myself to sleep
Pinned by this dead weight
In my chest
If forgiveness is the answer
Guess I failed the test

CHORUS
I'm finally through
No more
Shedding tears for you
I'll move ahead
My eyes are dry
No longer red
Even if you never knew
No more shedding tears for you

BRIDGE
Think that old saying
It is wrong
Didn't kill me but
It didn't make me strong
Made me mean
It made me cold
Now my emotions
Are in hold
Can't risk them
Being controlled

VERSE 3
How easily
You've moved on
Did you forget
Are the memories just gone
Time to
Bid adieu
Maybe someday
I'll forget you, too

CHORUS
I'm finally through
No more
Shedding tears for you
I'll move ahead
My eyes are dry
No longer red
Even if you never knew
No more shedding tears for you

© 2021 R. C. Richardson
All Rights Reserved



Please keep your comments respectful, honest, and constructive. Please focus on the song and not the demo.

Comments

musicsongwriter's picture

Very strong writing, powerful and truthful. Hope to hear your lyrics in a song.

kahlo's picture

Very relatable perspective that is conveyed with honest feeling insight. It is a brilliant tight write for this prompt!

coolparadiso's picture

It is a similar ilk to mine. I think mine maybe the next step in the story. Its a well structured add economical write! Nicely done.

Really feeling the weight of this lyric: "Pinned by this dead weight". Lovely.

Sunfire's picture

Some great lines in there. Very relatable.

AndreaB's picture

I love the theme. It is clear and reads very smoothly. Strong emotionally and very relatable. Can't believe you wrote this in a skirmish!