Super Skirmish (or some sort of mini, spaced out or uber on) 5090 Last Weekend

28 posts / 0 new
Last post

It is somewhat of a 5090 tradition to have a last weekend Super Skirmish. @metalfoot kicked us off with a 12 segment Super Skirmish back in July on the first weekend of 5090. @tcelliott organized a Mini Super Skirmish a few weeks ago. I am hoping there is interest in doing a series of skirmishes this last weekend of 5090. Maybe if there is enough interest we have a full blown or even extra-long Uber Super Skirmish. One year we tried this and ended up with a Spaced-Out (longer than one hour time gap between) Super Skirmishes but still had a total of 12 over the weekend. My first 5090 I recall a 49 hour marathon with a total of 25 skirmishes organized by @plainwhitetoast. To get it started, post below the time(s) that you would most like to host. I will add slots first come, first served. As a change up, I would like to have a more UK and Europe friendly potential starting time for the weekend series of skirmishes on Friday beginning 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT based on https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html with the traditional skirmish by @corinne54 Sunday September 29, 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, noon PDT, being the last skirmish in this series. I am interested to see how this evolves.

I also am giving dibs to @Amanda West who has hosted a number of skirmishes this Saturday at 3pm Eastern.

ss092719a Friday September 27 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT - host: @metalfoot
ss092719b Friday September 27 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, 12noon PDT - host: @Amanda West
ss092719c Friday September 27 10pm BST, 5pm EDT, 2pm PDT - host: @coolparadiso
ss092719d Saturday September 28 12am BST, Friday September 27 @ 7pm EDT, 4pm PDT - host: @coolparadiso
ss092719e Saturday September 28 2am BST, Friday September 27 @ 9pm EDT, 6pm PDT - host: @metalfoot
ss092719f Saturday September 28 4am BST, Friday September 27 @ 11pm EDT, 8pm PDT - host: @metalfoot

........break

ss092819h Saturday September 28, 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT - host: @kahlo2013
ss092819i Saturday September 28, 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, noon PDT - host: @Amanda West
ss092819j Saturday September 28, 10pm BST, 5pm EDT, 2pm PDT - host: @musicsongwriter
ss092819k Sunday September 29, 12am BST, Saturday September 28 @ 7pm EDT, 4pm PDT - host: @JWHanberry
ss092819l Sunday September 29, 2am BST, Saturday September 28 9pm EDT, 6pm PDT - host: @kahlo2013

..... (seven potential slots available on two-hour intervals)

ss092919p Sunday September 29, 6pm BST, 1pm EDT, 10am PDT - host: @Chip Withrow
ss092919q Sunday September 29, 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, noon PDT - host: @corinne54

Sample skirmish template

WHEN:
___ Sept __, 2019

Skirmish tag: ss_____ (ss######(letter) as in ss=super skirmish ###### is month/day/year, and letter is in sequence for that day)

(type ss_____ to search for songs using this tag)

Host: ___

When: ____, September __th @ 12:00 AM BST London, ___ EDT New York, , _____ PDT Los Angeles

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html (link is external)(link is external) (link is external) (link is external)

THEME/PROMPT: furthermore

TAGS: ss_____, skirmish, songskirmish, feast

WHAT: We'll have a 1 hour song skirmish, and it will go something like this:
1) At the start of the event, I'll announce a title/prompt/theme/concept/ for your inspiration.
2) All participants write, record, and post a song within an hour. Lyrics-only posts and instrumentals are absolutely fine. And if you take longer than an hour, PLEASE post anyway.
3) Be sure and tag your song using the above tags, and also post a link to it in this thread down below.
4) If you participate, please listen to (or read) and comment on the songs of all the other skirmish participants and share the 50/90 love.

I will probably sign up for Friday as I'm off... unless I get rescheduled. So it'll be Thursday before I know 100%. If it gets filled up then I'll grab something over the weekend.

The start time is 3am Saturday here. I can do something around 10 Pm Friday Bst, so the skirmishes will be going for 50 hours? Friday 6pm bst to sunday 8pm bst?

I am happy to participate SATURDAY 1 PM EDT and I could also do one Saturday at 9 PM EDT if needed ...

Sounds like a great idea. Of course I'm in at my usual time

Thanks for the initial boost everyone. We shall skirmish this weekend! @tcelliott thanks for letting me know. I have time commitments most of Saturday and am also hanging to fill in time slots as needed. @coolparadiso yes the idea is to have as many skirmishes as people want to host over that 50 hour time frame. Based on past history there are likely to be time gaps, especially in the EDT wee hours of the weekend morning. As always, people can do as few or as many skirmishes as they want to. @kahlo2013 thank you for signing up for two. Some of us are likely to be hosting multiple times. @corinne54 thanks again for your steady support of skirmishes through the years.

I'll host a session or two on Friday. I can be your initializer on Friday at lunch CDT (1pm EDT) and also take a session later in the day (maybe the 9pm EDT one?)

I love taking part and 10 pm on any of the days would work for me to host although I can try for 9 pm or 11 pm if it helps.
Nadia

Thanks for initializering @metalfoot. @musicsongwriter thanks and as a clarification did you mean 10pm BST? If so then great, if not let me know and I will make a change.

I can take Saturday 5, 7 or 9 PM EDT.

So far I feel that it is safe to say there will be at least 12 slots filled. My recall is a bit fuzzy on the date tag nomenclature (example ss092719a) so if I got that wrong someone please enlighten me. I added a few slots that do not yet have a host where I am certain there will be a (if no one else wants then I can) host for a bit of sequencing. In addition, there are still a number of available time slots up for grabs. Thanks @JWHanberry I have added you in at 7pm EDT on Saturday since 5pm and 9pm were already spoken for.

Yes please, sorry I didn't make it clear. BST please.

re: Date tags. I seem to recall that in the past the letters have continued even though the date changed. The 4am BST would be 092719f and the 6am BST would be 092819g.

Thank you for including me Smile x

I can also do this one if no one else wants it: ss092719b Friday September 27 8pm BST, 3pm EDT, 12noon PDT - host: TBD

Thanks @Amanda West

I do agree with @JWHanberry about the letters. They usually carry right through a superskirmish for continuity and to avoid confusion. Not that it really matters lol

Letters assigned sequentially as suggested. I skipped a few just in case there are any last minute host signups in the overnight EDT time gaps. Just a few hours away........

Looks like there's one scheduled for two hours before Corinne's usual Sunday skirmish. I'll take that one, and then stick around for Corinne's.

Ill take the other one next to mine if you like. Do back to back! D that is!

And I can do one more into the evening and take slot F, if you'd like, @AndyGetch.

thanks @metalfoot I will edit le schedule

[@coolparadisio] I missed your post earlier about taking the next one at 7pm EDT. I am outrunning errands. It is yours if you still want to host and feel free to take over and select a prompt and post it in the thread.

will do

thanks mate!

@AndyGetch great job pulling this together. It was fun. Thanks.

Thanks to all who hosted and participated!