Saturday, 7 September Mini Super Skirmish

26 posts / 0 new
Last post

I'm going to be running some skirmishes this Saturday (7 September 2019) from morning until late afternoon CDT (early afternoon until night time London Time.)

Is there any interest in expanding this out a bit? If there are people wanting to participate and if there are hosts we can expand it out in either direction (Friday evening or earlier Saturday morning and later Saturday evening into Sunday.) If you want to run a skirmish before or after (or take one of these) then let me know the time etc. Try to keep it two hours apart and on this schedule.

If, for instance, you wanted to run one at 10:00 PM CDT (11:00 pm New York City) that'd be great (no need to have some leading up to it if you don't want) but don't do one at 9:00 PM CDT (10:00 pm NYC) as that would throw the schedule off. If I've made it more confusing than it needs to be then let me know and I'll do my best to make it more confusing than ever... erm, I mean, clear it up.

Our schedule for Saturday the 7th will be:

ss190907a 10:00 AM CDT St. Louis, 4:00 PM BST London, 3:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th) - @tcelliott
ss190907b 12:00 AM CDT St. Louis, 6:00 PM BST London, 5:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th) - @kahlo2013
ss190907c 2:00 PM CDT St. Louis, 8:00 PM BST London, 7:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th) - @Amanda West
ss190907d 4:00 PM CDT St. Louis, 10:00 PM BST London, 9:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th) - @musicsongwriter
ss190907e 6:00 PM CDT St. Louis, 12:00 AM BST London, 11:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th) - @Adnama17

Here is the template I used for my skirmish post:

Skirmish tag: ss190907a
(type #ss190907a to search for songs using this tag)

Host: @tcelliott

When: Saturday, September 7th @ 10:00 AM CDT St. Louis, 4:00 PM BST London, 3:00 AM NZST New Zealand (8th)

https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html (link is external) (link is external) (link is external)

THEME/PROMPT:

TAGS: ss190907a, skirmish, songskirmish, feast,

WHAT: We'll have a 1 hour song skirmish, and it will go something like this:

1) At the start of the event, I'll announce a title/prompt/theme/concept/ for your inspiration.

2) All participants write, record, and post a song within an hour. Lyrics-only posts and instrumentals are absolutely fine. And if you take longer than an hour, PLEASE post anyway.

3) Be sure and tag your song using the above tags, and also post a link to it in this thread down below.

4) If you participate, please listen to (or read) and comment on the songs of all the other skirmish participants and share the 50/90 love.

I would be happy to add and run one on the end. 8 pm cdt st louis midnight london, 1pm nz. ( as the first 3 are not doable in australia 1,3 and 5 am).

@tcelliott said "this Saturday (14 September 2019)"

did you mean 7 September 2019?

@johnstaples I did, indeed. I've changed both the heading and the first post. Thank you!

@coolparadiso Still good for 8 pm CDT this Saturday, the 7th?

I've got obligations so cannot commit at this point.

Yup. Much Better. Ironically i now have a morning performance on 14th. So yes put me down for 8pm CDT on 7th.

I'm busy much of the day but might be able to do a later slot. (6pm CDT might work)

ah that's good, when it was the 14th i couldn't make it but can make the 7th - def interested, i can host one... those BST times need checking though - there are 2 at 10pm...

thanks, @wobbie wobbit They should be fixed.

I can host one if needed! Any of them is fine!

Please put me down for the 8pm BST one on both the 7th and the 14th, as I usually run a skirmish then on a Saturday anyway Smile

Due to bushfires and our property in imminent danger I won't be able to do skirmish @tcelliott

@coolparadiso No worries. Just be safe. I hope nature is kind to you today.

@kahlo2013 I'll put you down for Noon, if that's cool. Let me know if you'd rather have a different one.

I can do 10 pm BST if it's still available today.

It's you'rs, @musicsongwriter. Thanks, Nadia.

If anyone wants to do 8 PM CDT, 2:00 AM BST (8th), 1PM NZST (8th) then let me know and I'll add it to the list.

Thank you Tom Smile

Heya TC Smile Did you realise that you have reversed the skirmish date code to what folks have been using the rest of this 50/90 ?
ie ss190907a, instead of ss090719a (which fits with the rest). Not that it matters really Smile

Yes. The original superskirmish to kick off the site used MM/DD/YY, you and most of everybody else has been using DD/MM/YY. Both of which are confusing to some of the participants.

I'm using YY/MM/DD because once you see what it is, it works for everybody. Feel free to switch yours around if you want. But I like the idea of being more universal.
(But honestly, it probably doesn't really matter in the long run.)

Thank you to everyone who hosted and everyone who participated. I'm very happy with today's skirmishes. You all are great.

Thanks TC for hosting and organizing this mini-Saturday skirmish! Much appreciated!

Virtual high fives for all!!!

Thank you so much Tom and everyone. It was great to participate and wonderful to host one of them.
Nadia

Thanks everyone Smile