Online FAWMSTOCK: Here, There, Everywhere: August 14, 15, 2020

90 posts / 0 new
Last post

Announcing FAWMSTOCK 2020: Here, There, and Everywhere. Revised Dates August 14-15, 2020

FAWMSTOCK 2020 NowherePlan

Since we cannot have a FAWMSTOCK gathering in person this year let’s take it online.

On Friday August 14 and Saturday August 15, 2020 lets get together online to:
Meet online face to face through videoconference software.
Share livestream performances
Share songwriting and other workshops.
Have live FAWM challenges-- skirmishes, games, etc...
Interviews with FAWMERS
Moderated Discussions and Panels.

How it will work, is it will be a self organizing unconference style event coordinated on the 5090 Forums.

I have co-opted the Elsewhere sub forum as a suitable location for a non-gathering that is occurring nowhere and everywhere.
Hosts will choose a topic, concert, workshop etc and a timeslot. They will be responsible to choose the platform suitable for their topic (Zoom, Twitch, Facebook Rooms, Google Meet, Etc...) and post the links when available.

I have created a FACEbook event as well on the FAWMSTOCK FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/events/1279727439080950/
@Elesimo pointed out that you have to join the FAWMstock FB group to see the event: https://www.facebook.com/groups/160671727289649/

Fancy version of the Schedule is here: https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1NzvAsCYzUvc5AG8SxOumTw-u6r_am4T6laipfGIhgHM/

Thank you. @Elesimo has made a version of the schedule with links to individual streams on Google Calendar: https://calendar.google.com/calendar?cid=ZjhlZDZub25maGdzdTY5bGJpM3VldXE0NjBAZ3JvdXAuY2FsZW5kYXIuZ29...

***Reminder to hosts: Please add your stream links to the Original post so That I can add them to the schedule.
@AndyGetch suggested that each host make a Thread in the 5090 Elsewhere Forum dedicated to your session like we do on skirmishes.

If you want to share about the event online, I have made a bit.ly link to this forum post. https://bit.ly/2020fawmstock

The schedule is subject to change depending on whoever wants to volunteer to host and when. To convert start times anywhere in the world use the world clock converter: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html(link is external) . Please post in this topic if you are interesting in hosting or if you have any questions or comments. If you wish to host at a time not listed, just suggest it and your proposed topic.

Friday August 14, 2020 1 pm PDT, 4 PM EDT, 8 pm GMT host: @Amanda Rose Riley https://www.facebook.com/amandaroseriley FB Live broadcast where I write a song from scratch and explain my methods and tricks for writing an at least okay song quickly.
Friday August 14, 2020 2 pm PDT, 5 PM EDT, 9 pm GMT host: @ductapeguy: Welcome to FAWM History Game Show & Short set. Zoom Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85494283320?pwd=YlFBanc2SXV6MFdZTGlPcFU1WkVZUT09

Friday August 14, 2020 3 pm PDT, 6 PM EDT, 10 pm GMT host: @dudachris: same zoom Link as Ductapeguy above. Zoom Link: https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85494283320?pwd=YlFBanc2SXV6MFdZTGlPcFU1WkVZUT09

Friday August 14 2020 4 pm PDT, 7 PM EDT, 11 pm GMT host @nancyrost: Party at Nancy's! With creative prompts, chat, and optional breakout rooms for song sharing and/or collabs. Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85937311085?pwd=MmJUa3gwb0xraUYxTlk4dUNscVF6dz09

Friday August 14, 2020 5 pm PDT, 8 PM EDT, Saturday August 15, 1200am GMT host: @Robyn Mackenzie https://msngr.com/Vx0mRI19y2DY6nqC
A discussion on songwriting tips and tricks.
Friday August 14, 2020 6 pm PDT, 9 PM EDT; Saturday August 15, 2020 1 am GMT host : @Liz_Frencham double bass/voice set and songwriting chat (with bonus Skirmish prompt if you’d rather write than listen) Join Zoom Meeting https://us02web.zoom.us/j/82606281511?pwd=cjJ3VEkycWZtVnY3RVNsWGN0SzhvZz09
Meeting ID: 826 0628 1511 Passcode: FAWMILY

Friday August 14, 2020 7 pm PDT, 10 PM EDT; Saturday August 15, 2020 2 am GMT host : @Eric Distad @Jen Distad [@The Faithful Sidekicks] FAWM 5090 QA and Faithful Sidekicks https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83723666526?pwd=YXdqbk15NXRxSExNUEFFVUpuYUZqQT09

Friday August 14, 2020 8 pm PDT, 11 PM EDT; Saturday August 15, 2020 3 am GMT host  @metalfoot FAWMstock 2020 Alex Klages Live from the Brown Couch
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87348745536?pwd=cllOczE5enpwdWVkY0VGajM2ZkNDZz09 Meeting ID: 873 4874 5536 Passcode: 594132

Friday August 14, 2020 9 pm PDT, Saturday August 15, 2020 12 am EDT, 4 am GMT host  @The Moon Raccoon https://www.facebook.com/fromthemoonraccoon/

Saturday August 15, 2020 7 am PDT, 10 AM EDT; 2 pm GMT host @IA I can perform a few songs, maybe do quick jams, and chat with people. Probably going to do it on https://meet.jit.si/FAWMSTOCK
!!! NO login or software required. Just follow the link.
Don't know at all what's going to happen. Here are some ideas!
1) Chatting
2) I'll perform a couple of songs
3) Maybe tour around Reaper for demo recording tips and tricks
Hope to see you all there!

Saturday August 15, 2020 8 am PDT, 11 AM EDT; 3 pm GMT host @the3queens's I'm Going to have everyone share a recent song they've written. One or two depending on participants.
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85697197503?pwd=NGwwRkxqR0pYVlBVKzE4RDNyNHpsZz09
Meeting ID: 856 9719 7503 Passcode: 807365
Saturday August 15, 2020 9 am PDT, noon EDT; 4 pm GMT host @writeandwrong Same as above:
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85697197503?pwd=NGwwRkxqR0pYVlBVKzE4RDNyNHpsZz09 Meeting ID: 856 9719 7503 Passcode: 807365

Saturday August 15, 2020 10 am PDT, 1 pm EDT; 5 pm GMT host @Scubed https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3022086397 Meeting ID: 302 208 6397
Please join me (Scubed) at 11am MDT (10am PDT, 1PM EDT, 5pm) for an hour-long virtual songwriters’ circle via Zoom. After briefly introducing ourselves around the circle, we’ll take turns performing our original songs for each other. One song per turn (maximum of five minutes, including introductions and commentary); the number of turns will depend on the number of participants. Lyric readings and instrumental performances welcome!

Saturday August 15, 2020 11 am PDT, 2 pm EDT; 6 pm GMT host @yam655 Performance: I will be improvising songs live, on-request. https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86470866583?pwd=UHUyRFhzOXpYSWc4WDIzcmdKNmczQT09(link is external) Meeting ID: 864 7086 6583 Passcode: 5090

Saturday August 15, 2020 noon PDT, 3 pm EDT; 7 pm GMT host @Robyn Mackenzie https://msngr.com/Vx0mRI19y2DY6nqC Skirmish: Topic announced on the stream.

Saturday August 15, 2020 1 pm PDT, 4 pm EDT; 8 pm GMT host @nancyrost Saturday Fawmstock hangout. (subbing for Julie) Meet your fellow fawmers.
Join Zoom Meeting
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83174518019?pwd=VWZSODBUakg3VEhDK3ZaVDRza0Q2Zz09

Meeting ID: 831 7451 8019
Passcode: 138756

Saturday August 15, 2020 2 pm PDT, 5 PM EDT, 9 pm GMT host: @AndyGetch Format: 40 minute Zoom meeting (info to be posted as a separate forum topic)
Topic: 'Using Weird Chords In Songwriting'. https://us04web.zoom.us/j/78379852794?pwd=UHd5Rk1jN0RyUDhjY1piZFN6Rlo5QT09 Password: fMz4Zi
Description: Brief intro by @AndyGetch followed by live question and answer discussion session with post meeting discussion continuing in the forum topic.
Saturday August 15, 2020 3 pm PDT, 6 PM EDT, 10 pm GMT Host @headfirstonly A live demo of how he creates a song from scratch. https://www.twitch.tv/headfirstonly
Saturday August 15 2020 4 pm PDT, 7 PM EDT, 11 pm GMT host @Amanda West Topic: lyric writing, with info as well as questions and answers on anything anyone wants (anything from sync licensing to writing lyrics, to collaboration and so on.
https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88616252985 (note: revised link)

Saturday August 15, 2020 5 pm PDT, 8 PM EDT, Sunday August 16, 1200am GMT host: @Amanda West Open Mic to wrap up FAWMSTOCK. https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81597033359 (note: revised link)

Edits:

July 17: I have confirmed that the weekend of August 14-15 looks clear. I have changed dates accordingly. If you have signed up for a timeslot on the initial weekend I just moved you over to the corresponding time on the weekend of August 14. If you need to make a change, let me know.

Can I get the "Saturday July 25, 2020 11 am PDT, 2 pm EDT; 6 pm GMT host TBA" slot?

I will be improvising songs live, on-request.

IA's picture
DonatedwinnerIA

I could take Saturday July 25, 2020 7 am PDT, 10 AM EDT; 2 pm GMT, please.

I can perform a few songs, maybe do quick jams, and chat with people. Probably going to do it on https://jitsi.org/ since it doesn't require a login. Smile

Does anyone know a video conferencing platform that allows synchronous jamming if people have strong WiFi connections?

IA's picture
DonatedwinnerIA

@kahlo2013 Reaper has NINJAM. You could use that as a platform and video for show. I don't think many services have that much of a delay, but surely there's always a bit. I don't know. I know that NINJAM was designed to not have lag.

Synchronous jamming is sort of the Holy Grail of videoconferencing. All solutions have too much latency to effectively jam. Ninjam gets around it by extending the lag into several beats or bars, so skilled musicians can create some interesting music that is slightly time delayed but also "live".

@IA @kahlo2013 @ductapeguy NINJAM looks really interesting!

I'd be willing to help running a jam session using it. I can get a high bandwidth machine to run the server, and we can do a test run before the day to make sure everything goes smoothly.

I’m interested, of course, and I’ll be there. Don’t know if I need to run a session, necessarily. But I’ll show up, excited that we’ll be able to “meet” people who couldn’t make it to previous live in person FAWMstocks.

How do we get the word out to people not doing 50/90?

@standup it will be nice to finally participate, even if remotely. Though during FAWM I was already making plans to attend FAWMStock in person.

I'll happily take the Friday July 24, 2020 Friday July 24, 2020 6 pm PDT, 9 PM EDT; Saturday July 25, 2020 1 am GMT slot for some FAWM songs with solo bass accompaniment and chat. I can also do some Live impro based on a crowd sourced prompt?

Sounds great! Thanks so much for setting this up, @ductapeguy. I can host a slot or two on Zoom, maybe one that's a fairly unstructured hangout and one with some Circle Singing games. I'll add details later.

I'd like to host a couple slots as well, one just to hang out and talk songwriting tips and tricks, and I'd also like to host a skirmish. Perhaps "Friday July 24, 2020 5 pm PDT, 8 PM EDT, Saturday July 25 1200am GMT" and "Saturday July 25, 2020 noon PDT, 3 pm EDT; 7 pm GMT" if those slots are still available. I can be flexible. Smile

@standup. I have posts on the FAWM and FAWMSTOCK groups on Facebook linking to this master post to help get the word out.

We seem to have hit a snag with the timing of the weekend. There is a quite a bit of crossover between the FAWM and FILK music communities so prior to posting this, I checked @EricDistad 's http://filkstreams.org/ to make sure there were no conflicts. At that time the weekend of the 24th showed as clear of any filk-related events. Since then the virtual Confluence weekend was posted for the weekend of July 24-26.

I am wondering if we should postpone our virtual FAWMstock weekend a few weeks to avoid conflicting events. I am seeking both comments on whether we should change the date, and suggested dates. Let's see what people think until Tuesday the 14th and then we can see if there is a consensus.

I am fine with postponing it to August or even September. Just not the last week in July.

Fine with rescheduling. All days are pretty much available in my new lifestyle.

I’m ok with holding off a few weeks. If we follow through with this timing, I can take Friday July 24, 2020 2 pm PDT, 5 PM EDT, 9 pm GMT host: TBA

cts's picture
Donatedcts

I'm cool with postponing until August.

Totally fine with postponing as needed.

I have vacation plans for...... nowhere! so, yeah, postponing until August is fine with me!

Are there proposed alternate dates going on?

I have been slow investigating alternate dates. I will get on it today.

I have confirmed that the weekend of August 14-15 looks clear. I have changed dates accordingly. If you have signed up for a timeslot on the initial weekend I just moved you over to the corresponding time on the weekend of August 14. If you need to make a change, let me know.

I would like to do this one please Saturday August 15 2020 4 pm PDT, 7 PM EDT, 11 pm GMT host
I will work out some kind of Zoom webinar/meet on lyric writing, with info as well as questions and answers on anything anyone wants (anything from sync licensing to writing lyrics, to collaboration and so on. Does that sound interesting ?

Can I take Saturday August 15, 2020 1 pm PDT, 4 pm EDT; 8 pm GMT host TBA? I’m tbd on what I’ll do but will update you by August Smile

If it's cool I would take Fri Aug 14 at 4 pm EDT - I know that's an hour earlier than you'd planned on beginning the schedule, but it's a better time for me. I'd like to do a FB Live broadcast where I write a song from scratch and explain my methods and tricks for writing an at least okay song quickly.

Edit: In case you are posting the links my FB page where I do live streams is https://www.facebook.com/amandaroseriley

I have added Amanda West, unpronounceable and Amanda Rose Riley to the schedule.

I should be after Robyn Mackenzie on the 15th; can you adjust? Thank you!

Ooopsie. My eye focused on the wrong 1pm. I have fixed it.

@ductapeguy, you can put me down for Friday August 14 2020 4 pm PDT, 7 PM EDT, 11 pm GMT. I'll host a Zoom chat, details TBA.

You're in @nancyrost

Which slots are for the late-night parties?

I could take Sat. Aug. 15 at 10am PDT. Probably host an open mic on Zoom.

Can intake Aug 15 Saturday at 11am EDT ?
Lori

@the3queens @Scubed

I have added you to the top post/ schedule. We now have 10 hours of activities scheduled with slots available for 8 more hours should hosts sign up. This is fixing to be a good FAWMSTOCK.

Hey Sean,
I would love to play a set!!

Great @dudachris : Pick an open time.

I'll do this one if nobody else is doing it:

Saturday August 15, 2020 9 am PDT, noon EDT; 4 pm GMT host TBA

Thanks for organizing this, @ductapeguy!

Updating my slot - Saturday August 15, 2020 1 pm PDT, 4 pm EDT; 8 pm GMT host @unpronounceable:
Meet your fellow FAWMers! Grab some food and drink, I'll have icebreaker questions and split folks into different breakout rooms all throughout the hour so we can all get to know each other.

Just let me know when you want the Zoom link Smile

Also, only IF we need to fill more slots, I'd be happy to host a co-writing Skirmish in an available slot -- I could do any of the following:
Friday August 14, 2020 2 pm PDT 5 PM EDT, 9 pm GMT host: TBA
Friday August 14, 2020 3 pm PDT, 6 PM EDT, 10 pm GMT host: TBA
Saturday August 15, 2020 3 pm PDT, 6 PM EDT, 10 pm GMT host: TBA

Let me know Smile

Thanks Everyone: I've scheduled myself for Friday Aug 14- 5pmEDT and @dudachris for 6pm EDT.
@writeandwrong: I have added you to the schedule. WIll you and @the3queens be sharing a stream & broadcast space. I see you've booked back to back.

We have 5 slots left on the weekend (although we can always add more).

@kahlo2013 Re: synchronous jamming: The open source "jacktrip" looks like it may make jamming possible but it would not be easy to set up. https://ccrma.stanford.edu/software/jacktrip/ I'd love to see someone try.

I noticed most of the list doesn't actually say what people are doing or where they're doing it, only their handle. Can't tell if there's additional info in the comments, but it's hard to find. It will be really hard to take part in things without this information!

Edit: @ductapeguy it looks like you might not know you can tag people so they get notified by putting their name and any spaces into brackets, like mine is [ @Amanda Rose Riley ] except you wouldn't put the space right after and right before the brackets. Just letting you know so you can tag the people who signed up when you need to notify them!

Thanks for organizing this! I can host the Saturday August 15, 2020 2 pm PDT, 5 PM EDT, 9 pm GMT slot. Description:

Format: 40 minute Zoom meeting (info to be posted as a separate forum topic)
Topic: 'Using Weird Chords In Songwriting'.
Description: Brief intro by @AndyGetch followed by live question and answer discussion session with post meeting discussion continuing in the forum topic.

I've updated the list and added brackets.

Thank you @nancyrost. You beat me to it.

I will be hosting my segment on the Saturday in the usual place over on my Twitch channel:
https://www.twitch.tv/headfirstonly

I will be doing a 60-minute skirmish, the HFO way (i.e. shambolically) Smile

[email protected] @ductapeguy I've been doing synchronous jamming the last few months using Jamulus (open source) for just the audio and occasionally use Zoom (with its audio muted) for video. There are some hardware requirements (wired web connection, audio interface) but when it works it's great.

@Monty would you be up for hosting an intro session on Jamulus?

@nancyrost Sure. I have a Zoom account and can share my screen. Here's the starting point if you wanna look at it. https://sourceforge.net/projects/llcon/

I'm adding the events to a public Google calendar here, if anyone's interested: https://calendar.google.com/calendar?cid=ZjhlZDZub25maGdzdTY5bGJpM3VldXE0NjBAZ3JvdXAuY2FsZW5kYXIuZ29...

This way it will show up in the right time zone in your calendar.

I also have a pro Zoom account, if anyone needs me to create sessions let me know!

Pages