Mega Super Skirmish MSskirmishS29b September 29, 20:00 BST, 15:00 EDT, 12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST

19 posts / 0 new
Last post

SKIRMISH: Friday, September 29, 20:00 BST, 15:00 EDT, 12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST
HOST: colgoo
THEME/PROMPT: CAGED*
TAGS: megasuperskirmish, msskirmishS29b
WHAT: We'll have a 1 hour song skirmish and it will go something like this:
1) At the start of the event, I'll announce a theme for your inspiration.
2) All participants write, record and post a song within an hour. (Lyrics-only posts are also absolutely fine. And if you take longer than an hour, PLEASE post anyway. There are no 50/90 police!)
3) Participants share links to their songs. Fun and embarrassment ensue. But most importantly, everyone has one more song!
Be sure and tag your song and also post a link to it in this thread.
If you participate, please listen to (or read) and comment on the songs of the other skirmish participants. (That's part of the fun!)
Good luck and enjoy!
P.S. If you can't start at the announced time, you can still participate. Just post your song written within the hour after you start

*you may choose to take on an additional challenge or two from my extra bonus prompts

Theme: CAGED

Write a song that fits the theme "Caged". You may also choose to try one or more of the bonus challenges.

BONUS CHALLENGES

Lyrics bonus challenge: +1 for each bonus word used

Bar, Cell, Feather, Free, Trap

Musician challenge: use only chords (major or minor) from the five letters of the theme.

Rhythm challenge (ALL): roll a six sided die

Meter (lyricists: this is the number of syllables in each line)
1: irregular meter....anything goes
2: common meter (8686)
3: short meter (6686)
4: 7777
5: long meter (8888)
6: 10 10 10 10

Time signature:
1: wild..any time signature you choose
2: 2/4
3: 3/4
4: 4/4
5: 3/2
6: 6/8 or 6/4

Woop!

OMG that would keep me busy for a month ... Smile

@tootoobee...

You don't need to choose any of the bonuses. I just thought they'd be interesting traps to add to the theme.

I chose the meter, lyricist and musician bonus prompts. I also decided to throw in storycubes, because why not?

Lyrics are written (not my finest, but oh, well!) Now for recording with my guitar....

Good luck!!!

Two down and who knows how many more to go, everything depends on how little time I have.
http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25977

http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25978

Hard to believe this is my first skirmish this 50/90.

This was harder than it seemed. Thanks for the challenge @colgoo http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25979

Well, I started 40 minutes late, there's no lyrics posted, and I won't be able to hear the others until I'm off work, but I did it!
http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25981

Pfff that was fun but also hard work. http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25984

Well, I got some of the bonus points, but I didn't have time to do them all! http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25985

Still late but I'll be catching up real soon now. Wink
http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25986

I got this done, but am experiencing uploading issues, so you just get my lyrics, for now.

http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/25988

I'll be busy for the next few hours, but I promise to comment on each of your creations. Hope you had fun with this skirmish!

This is really late - I have missed most of the Skirmishes this weekend so this song captures 8 of them. Here are the prompts for the eight:

secret
storm
confused
autumn colors
Merlin
caged
I believe you promised
in the meantime

http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/26106