FINAL MEGA SUPERSKIRMISH OF 50/90 2017!!!

37 posts / 0 new
Last post

Ok so last year we had a MEGA Super Skirmish on the final weekend of 50/90 and it was a blast! It gave all those stragglers like me a chance to try and reach the big 50 and it was a grand ending to a song filled summer!

WHAT: Mega SuperSkirmish September 30th & October 1st BST MEGA Super Skirmish all weekend to celebrate the end of 50/90 2017
24, yes you read right, 24 skirmishes all weekend!!!

WHEN: This will be Sept 29/30, Sept 30 & Oct 1, or Oct 1/2, depending where in the world you live. Times posted in 4 major 50/90 member zones. For any other times use this: https://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/converter.html

WHO: Potential hosts please leave a comment below stating the time slot you can commit to. This will only work if we get your help!

Let's do this thang!!! Biggrin Biggrin Biggrin

---------HOST LIST (times using the 24 hr clock)---------------------------------------------

#msskirmishS29a (Fri 29) - 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00 CEST: @Jibbidy34

#msskirmishS29b (Fri 29) - 20:00 BST, 15:00 EDT, 12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST: @colgoo

#msskirmishS29c (Fri 29) - 22:00 BST, 17:00 EDT, 14:00 PDT, 23:00 CEST: @musicsongwriter

#msskirmishS30d (Sat 30) 00:00 BST, (Fri 29) 19:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 16:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 01:00 CEST: @AndyGetch

#msskirmishS30e (Sat 30) 02:00 BST, (Fri 29) 21:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 18:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 03:00 CEST: @kahlo2013

#msskirmishS30f (Sat 30) 04:00 BST, (Fri 29) 23:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 20:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 05:00 CEST: @oneslowtyper

#msskirmishS30g (Sat 30) 06:00 BST, (Sat 30) 01:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 22:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 07:00 CEST: @metalfoot

#msskirmishS30h (Sat 30) 08:00 BST, 03:00 EDT, 00:00 PDT, 09:00 CEST: @Jibbidy34

#msskirmishS30i (Sat 30th) 10:00 BST, 05:00 EDT, 02:00 PDT, 11:00 CEST: @cindyrella

#msskirmishS30j (Sat 30th) 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CEST: @AndyGetch

#msskirmishS30k (Sat 30th) 14:00 BST, 09:00 EDT, 06:00 PDT, 15:00 CEST: @kahlo2013

#msskirmishS30L (Sat 30th) 16:00 BST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST: @johnstaples

#msskirmishS30m (Sat 30th) 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00 CEST: @johnstaples

#msskirmishS30n (Sat 30th) 20:00 BST, 15:00 EDT, 12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST: @marvsmooth

#msskirmishS30o (Sat 30th) 22:00 BST, 17:00 EDT, 14:00 PDT, 23:00 CEST: @musicsongwriter

#msskirmishO1p (Sun 1st) 00:00 BST, (Sat 30)19:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 16:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 01:00 CEST: @kahlo2013

#msskirmishO1q (Sun 1st) 02:00 BST, (Sat 30) 21:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 18:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 03:00 CEST: @metalfoot

#msskirmishO1r (Sun 1st) 04:00 BST, (Sat 30) 23:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 20:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 05:00 CEST: @AndyGetch

#msskirmishO1s (Sun 1st) 06:00 BST, (Sun 1st) 01:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 22:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 07:00 CEST: @yam655

#msskirmishO1t (Sun 1st) 08:00 BST, (Sun 1st) 03:00 EDT, (Sun 1st) 00:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 09:00 CEST: @tootoobee

#msskirmishO1u (Sun 1st) 10:00 BST, 05:00 EDT, 02:00 PDT, 11:00 CEST: @tootoobee

#msskirmishO1v (Sun 1st) 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CEST: @AndyGetch

#msskirmishO1w (Sun 1st) 14:00 BST, 09:00 EDT, 06:00 PDT, 15:00 CEST: @tcelliott

#msskirmishO1x (Sun 1st) 16:00 BST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST: @AndyGetch

#msskirmishO1y (Sun 1st) 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00 CEST: @Jibbidy34

---------------------SKIRMISH TEMPLATE FOR YOUR CONVENIENCE (Edit with your own data)---------------------------------------------------

MegaSuperSkirmish mssS29a Fri 29th 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00 CEST

HOST: @Jibbidy34

THEME: TBA

TAGS: #megasuperskirmish #msskirmishS29a #yourtheme

WHAT: We'll have a 1 hour song skirmish and it will go something like this:

1) At the start of the event, I'll announce a theme for your inspiration.

2) All participants write, record and post a song within an hour. (Lyrics-only posts are also absolutely fine. And if you take longer than an hour, PLEASE post anyway. There are no 50/90 police!)

3) Participants share links to their songs. Fun and embarrassment ensue. But most importantly, everyone has one more song!

Be sure and tag your song and also post a link to it in this thread.

If you participate, please listen to (or read) and comment on the songs of the other skirmish participants. (That's part of the fun!)

Good luck and enjoy!

P.S. If you can't start at the announced time, you can still participate. Just post your song written within the hour after you start.

HAVE FUN!

I've stuck my name down for the first one to get the ball rolling. Who else is up for hosting?? Smile Smile Let me know in the comments below!

I'll take the Friday afternoon one: 20:00 BST, 15:00 EDT, 12:00 PDT, 21:00 CEST

THANKS for organizing - you can put me down for any of the following and happy to host more than one if helpful.

(Fri 29) - 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00

(Sat 30) 02:00 BST, (Fri 29) 21:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 18:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 03:00 CEST:

(Sat 30) 04:00 BST, (Fri 29) 23:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 20:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 05:00
(Sat 30th) 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CEST:

(Sat 30th) 14:00 BST, 09:00 EDT, 06:00 PDT, 15:00 CEST:

(Sat 30th) 16:00 BST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 00:00 BST, (Sat 30)19:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 16:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 01:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 02:00 BST, (Sat 30) 21:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 18:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 03:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 04:00 BST, (Sat 30) 23:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 20:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 05:00 CEST:

@colgoo all sorted - thank you! @kahlo2013 I've put you down for 3 spaced apart. I hope that's ok! I'm hoping there will be more takers over the week. Thank you in advance for giving up your time both of you. x

I can do (Fri 29) - 22:00 BST, 17:00 EDT, 14:00 PDT, 23:00 CEST

(Sat 30th) 22:00 BST, 17:00 EDT, 14:00 PDT, 23:00 CEST

Just need to check if 22:00 BST is indeed 22:00 or 23:00 in London. Please kindly let me know so that I post it at the right time.

I can do Friday night 11pm, my time in New York, which I believe is:
(Sat 30) 04:00 BST, (Fri 29) 23:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 20:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 05:00 CEST:

I can host this one:
(Sat 30) 00:00 BST, (Fri 29) 19:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 16:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 01:00 CEST
and this one:
(Sun 1st) 02:00 BST, (Sat 30) 21:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 18:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 03:00 CEST

@musicsongwriter BST is indeed London time (British Summer Time). Thank you for signing up to both of those slots! @oneslowtyper all sorted - those two are yours - many thanks for signing up! @metalfoot great stuff - both slots are yours. Thanks guys this is going to be I can feel it!

I can do either of these or both if you don't mind a doubleheader!

(Sat 30th) 16:00 BST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST:

(Sat 30th) 18:00 BST, 13:00 EDT, 10:00 PDT, 19:00 CEST:

Maybe Saturday the 30th at 11:00?

Wow, thanks @Jibbidy34 so much for scheduling! As of now my preferred hosting times are:

(Sat 30th) 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 04:00 BST, (Sat 30) 23:00 EDT, (Sat 30) 20:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 05:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 12:00 BST, 07:00 EDT, 04:00 PDT, 13:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 14:00 BST, 09:00 EDT, 06:00 PDT, 15:00 CEST:

(Sun 1st) 16:00 BST, 11:00 EDT, 08:00 PDT, 17:00 CEST:

I don't mind hosting multiples, spread out, back to back, whatever. Also happy to only host one if there is lots of interest.

I'll have to check with the plans for next weekend. I know Saturday most of the day is out, after that....

Saturday 18:00 BST is possible for me.

I don't do 50/90 on October the first, because that's Louise's birthday.

Not sure it I get anything written (but I'll try for lyrics at least, I'm missing songwriting) but I for sure can host.
I could host these two (and more if needed between 8 and 20 BST, I'll keep checking this post)

(Sat 30th) 10:00 BST, 05:00 EDT, 02:00 PDT, 11:00 CEST:
(Sun 1st) 10:00 BST, 05:00 EDT, 02:00 PDT, 11:00 CEST:

Thanks for organizing!!

@tootoobee only one of your preferred slots was free - is there another slot that you would like in addition as you mentioned you could do more if needed??@marvsmooth Sat at 6pm is already taken, is there another slot we could tempt you with? @tcelliott we have a lot of empty slots on the Sunday if you fancy...?@johnstaples @cindyrella @AndyGetch thank you for giving up your time, the list has been updated!!

PS Is there someone from the West Coast (PDT) that can host #msskirmishS30g?

8pm on Saturday (20:00 hrs)?

Thank you @marvsmooth it's all yours Smile Smile

@Jibbidy34 - your hair is lovely by the way xx

May I take my final and usual Sunday 3PM EDT skirmish spot?

I could also do the "early" morning one on Sunday, two in a row Smile interesting

(Sun 1st) 08:00 BST, (Sun 1st) 03:00 EDT, (Sun 1st) 00:00 PDT, (Sun 1st) 09:00 CEST:

@corinne54 there isn't a Sunday 3pm EDT - the latest is 1pm. Currently I have it but I'd be happy to let you take it and I'll do an earlier one. Let me know what you want to do. (There is also a 7 & 9am EDT available if you're an early bird.)

Thank you @tootoobee and @marvsmooth!

Never mind - I'll just do my standard plain old skirmish at 3PM (15:00 EDT)

Is #msskirmishO1s still open? I could take that one.

Also, my conflicting summer plans will be all finished up so I'll be all about going out in a blaze of singing glory.

Was reminded today of another commitment I have on Friday evening (my time) when I'm supposed to be hosting a skirmish slot (#msskirmishS30d). My bad for not checking my dayplanner first. I'll have to duck out of that one, sorry. Sad
I can perhaps set up (#msskirmishS30g) however. It's midnight my time when that starts but I'll be a bit on an adrenaline buzz that night anyway...

Ok @corinne54 sorry about that! We could do something unusual this year and make a 'z' slot for 15:00 EDT - so 25 skirmishes in all. I don't think anyone would mind and afterall, we have the entire alphabet apart from that one last letter. If ok with you I'll do that. Will wait to hear... Smile

@yam655 you're all set and no probs @metalfoot I have switched those times for you.

Thank you everyone!

I think I can handle #msskirmishO1w (Sun 1st) 14:00 BST, 09:00 EDT (and possibly the one before it, but I'm still a maybe on that.) Let me confirm no Sunday AM plans with the wife.

Ok great @tcelliott! I have put you down for the #msskirmishO1w one. Let me know on the earlier slot.

First time host here - what do I do(besides coming up with a theme), what do I post(Title), when do I post it(10 minutes early, 30 minutes, 1 hour)???
Also, is there a current running list of themes that have already been done?

@oneslowtyper On the day (recommended at least a couple hours before) you start a new thread under 'song skirmishes' and copy/paste the skirmish template (posted above) using your particular time and tag: #msskirmishS30f (Sat 30) 04:00 BST, (Fri 29) 23:00 EDT, (Fri 29) 20:00 PDT, (Sat 30) 05:00 CEST. That way it's set up for when you need to go in and edit it. YOU come up with a theme for your skirmish but don't leak the title beforehand! :)You post your theme EXACTLY on the hour for everyone to rush off, write then paste their songs into your topic thread. Also, as there a few peeps before you, you can check out how they're running theirs for tips.:)

I think I've covered it. Chime in anyone if I've left something out!

@Jibbidy34 You got this! If no one else wants 30d or 01v I would be happy to host, or swap if someone wants one of the ones I am listed for. I would add a bit of my experience to the answer to @oneslowtyper. For a prompt I try to make it somewhat random, like flip open a book, dictionary, magazine, etc. There is a bonus when the word or phrase has multiple meanings. When looking at prior skirmishes there may be ideas that catch your eye. The risk of a random selection is that a real unusual/clunker of a prompt may be picked. My all time worst is 'Good Golden Gondola' LOL. Also I wait to pick the prompt until a few minutes before the skirmish begins, that way I can play along. Then when hosting I usually do a quick write/post and strive to listen to and comment on every other song posted in the skirmish.

@AndyGetch Au contraire... Good Golden Gondola was fun. Got me mock-opera singing Wink

@oneslowtyper you can provide a title or a general theme or provide several options. You can include a list of suggested words to be used. You can provide an image or a character. Use a dictionary or an online random word/phrase generator. Pretty much anything you want!

And I never limit myself to what comes up randomly. I spin, if I don't like it I spin again until I do like it!

Thanks Georgie, Andy, and John... I think you covered everything I needed to know.

Thank you @AndyGetch! Those two slots are yours.

Well everyone all the slots are now taken and I am so so pleased with the level of interest so far. The more players, the more excitement, the more fun the games!! This marathon songwriting weekend is going to be a blast!!! I have put a mock template at the top in case anyone wants to use it. Thanks in advance for everyone giving up their time to be a host/s. You rock Biggrin

I said, "I hit 50. I don't want to write any more. I'll just demo the songs I wrote." But it's not going. So I'm looking forward to this final Superskirmish.

most of this upcoming skirmish conflicts with the jewish holiday of yom kipper, and tho i'm not all that religious, its one of the few holidays i try to step away from ignoring and try to unplug a bit and all.... so you won't see me here friday night and saturday (until maybe late saturday night)... so if I miss ya all, have a great skirmish, etc!