10th July Monday Skirmish - 7PM EST, 4PM PST, 1AM BST

15 posts / 0 new
Last post

SKIRMISH: MONDAY 10th JULY - 7PM EST, 4PM PST, 1AM BST

HOST: Powerstars

THEME: Computers/Technology

TAGS: #skirmish #skirmishJ10a #computers

WHAT: We'll have a 1 hour song skirmish and it will go something like this:

1) At the start of the event, I'll announce a title or writing prompt.

2) All participants write, record and post a song within an hour. (Lyrics-only posts are also absolutely fine. And if you take longer than an hour, PLEASE post anyway. There are no 50/90 police!)

3) Participants share links to their songs. Fun and embarrassment ensue. But most importantly, everyone has one more song!

Be sure and tag your song and also post a link to it in this thread.

If you participate, please listen to (or read) and comment on the songs of the other skirmish participants. (That's part of the fun!)

Good luck and enjoy!

P.S. If you can't start at the announced time, you can still participate. Just post a song within an hour after you start.

Only likely to do this if I suffer a bout of insomnia!

@Powerstars, the title of this thread has the skirmish tonight (July 10) at 7 pm EST, etc., but the text above in your post still says July 8 at 3 pm EST (I assume because it was copied from that earlier skirmish).

Maybe the theme is/was/will be "Time Travel"? Wink

@OdilonGreen Thanks for pointing that out! I'll fix that.

Sadly can't participate due to the timing. Good luck to everyone.
Nadia

Theme is computers/technology!

Sorry I'm late. Had to do the band.
HTTP NERD
http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/21479

Uploading now, might take a while because I'm on a slow connection Sad

Nevermind, its up now. Since I dont sing in any of my songs, I had to find a different way to use the theme so I decided to incorporate digital kind of things in the song, like using plugins as the main part of the song (TONS of compression Smile ) and using samples. The drums are samples and the rhodes is a sample too. Guitar tones are achieved with plugins too. And I threw in the dial up sound too for extra effect Smile

http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/21480

@Kraftec Tried a couple of times to play your demo. Got nothing on the clock.

@JWHanberry Sorry about that, bad link, should work now Smile

http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/21490 Warning NSFW

Started late, ended late (by 8 minutes)

Started late/finished late - total time 25 minutes - acoustic instrumental created electronically. http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/21493

I caught the ride 3 hours late with @tcelliott in the slack chatroom, and came up with a brief history of computin' http://fiftyninety.fawmers.org/song/21491